Who are we?
- Bilton’s intriguing history can be traced back to 1694, when the farm, Bonterivier, as it was then known, was granted by Governor Simon van der Stel to Willem Jansz van de Werelt. Today, more than three centuries later, the surname of the first owner has taken on a significant new meaning. Van de Werelt means “of the world” and in recent years, the fine wines produced on this progressive wine farm have indeed become sought-after by wine lovers across the world. Although not much is known about the early activities on the farm, it has been ascertained that the first vines were planted in 1726. The old wine cellar, dating back to 1824, still graces the estate and has been restored meticulously and transformed into a stylish tasting room.